Skip navigation.
New Mexico State University

The Graduate Student Council (GSC) is the link between graduate students, ASNMSU, and the Graduate College.  All graduate students are invited to participate in the GSC.

Goals of the Graduate Student Council:
- to serve as the voice of graduate students in university administrative committees and through state lobbying efforts
- to facilitate communication between graduate students of various backgrounds
- to direct student activity fee monies to Graduate Student Organizations and individuals
- to promote student research through the Graduate Research and Arts Symposium (held every Spring Semester)
- to encourage graduate student involvement in the university and greater Las Cruces communities

Current Items:
- The Graduate Research and Arts Symposium (GRAS) will be held from 8:00 - 6:00 on Wednesday March 1818.
- Sign up to volunteer or judge at the Graduate Research and Arts Symposium (GRAS) here.
- The next meeting of the Graduate Student Coucil for the 2014-2015 academic year will occur on Tuesday March 17th at 4:30 in the Senate Gallery (Corbett Center RM 304).
- The funding process may be reviewed here.
- Please take some time to read the GSC response to the graduate external review.

Additional information:
- GSC Constitution and By-Laws (.pdf)(.doc). Modified 19 November, 2013.
- Re-charter or create your GSO.
- GSC Pamphlet
- Community service events

Jean McKeever, President (email Jean)
Adam Amador, Vice President (email Adam)
John Schutte, Secretary (email John)
Leili Abkar, Treasurer (email Leili)
Cecilia Palacio, VP of Activities (email Cecilia)
Kyle Uckert, Webmaster (email Kyle)


Graduate senators represent graduate students in ASNMSU. We currently have 6 seats in the ASNMSU senate, half of which are elected in the fall and half in the spring.
Deepak Brasyal
Phani Raj Dandamudi
Desa Daniel
Sarah McCormick
Tapaswy Muppaneni
Ali Nasirian

Our Graduate Senators represent us in Associated Students of NMSU (ASNMSU).